//
you're reading...
Coming Back, Faith, Quotes

Doing the bare minimum

No eulogy is due to him who simply does his duty and nothing more. –St. Augustine

I must confess that doing the bare minimum is something that I have struggled with over the past few years, but is something that I am determined to rectify. Falling prey to living in the moment and hence doing the bare minimum on certain things in order to have time for other things can happen to the best of us.

Where do faith and religion come in?

As St. Augustine implicitly points out above, the bare minimum is usually not best. In some cases it may be, but in the vast majority of cases it is not. I know when I’m at my best and, um, I haven’t been there for quite a while unfortunately.

Live in this world, but infuse your actions with a meaning and purpose that transcends it. –Allison Josephs

And in the spirit of doing my best, I’m off to get studying for an exam on the politics of the Middle East.

x

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

