//
you're reading...
Mass

My first Mass at Westminster Cathedral

I guess it was a little, shall we say, ambitious to make it to the 8 a.m. Mass after two nights of not sleeping very well due to exams. I went in the evening instead and it actually worked out better that way because apparently Saturday evening fulfills Sunday obligation, which I didn’t know before.

I went early and just sat there for evening prayers and afterward I walked around to see all the beautiful mosaics. I’ve come across a few people in my time that think having big, beautiful cathedrals is ‘bad’ because the money spent should be given to the poor. I guess I would have to disagree because these old, beautiful churches really connect people to the history of their faith. I’d much rather worship in an old cathedral than some mega-church that’s more like an event venue. But hey, that’s just me.

There were two things that really jumped out at me. The first being that when I was a kid Mass felt like an eternity. Now as an adult one hour is really hardly anything. Secondly, I am always ravenous after Mass and I’m not sure why! Anyone else experience this one? 😉 I’m assuming so because that’s why Catholics always go out to brunch, right?

Have a restful Lord’s Day everyone!

x

Discussion

One thought on “My first Mass at Westminster Cathedral

  1. Great that you went as you planned to ! Yes, the time quite flies in Mass. They don’t drone on as other churches do, but there is a lot of meaningful and symbolic liturgy instead 🙂

    Posted by prayers4reparation | June 3, 2012, 11:10 am

Leave a Reply

